They’re Souvenirs, Not Stuff!

Global Issues in Design and Visuality in the 21st Century

Ashley Chang

Section: Barbara Adams

 Global Now: Abstract

Headline:  They’re Souvenirs, Not Stuff!

Date:  8/31/2012

Source:  The New York Times Magazine

Image

Abstract:

When I first saw this article I clicked on it only because the title, “They’re Souvenirs, Not Stuff!” is usually my justification when my mom tries to throw away my trinkets. I am a hoarder of souvenirs and I get attached to certain things. I keep the teddy bear my brother got me from Las Vegas, the Cinderella t-shirt I had back in Korea when I was five, and a broken zipper that reminds me of my first boy crush back at home in Dallas. Throughout the article the author, Dominique Browning, tries to justify all these things are not stuff, but Nostalgia, Inspiration and Memory. Because even though they may take up a lot of space in your house they’re not baggage, they’re a remembrance of a life well lived.

Link: click here

Global Issue:  Anti-Stuff Minimalism

Primary Design Lens:  Illustration

Secondary Design Lens:  Inspiration and Nostalgia

About ayc921

Parsons: Fashion Design: Children's wear
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

