Plants within Urbanization Progress

WeiChing Lin

Title: Plants within Urbanization Progress

Keywords: sustainability, plants, urbanization, spatial experience, spatial balance, urban farming, gardening

Thesis:
Today over half of the world’s population live in urban areas, but the process of urbanization results in the common issue like, population explosion, pollution and stress because people are living under a synthetic environment. Plants, one of natural ecologic members that adjusting and balances natural life cycle is scarcely considered properly but the effect it can bring to is under estimation. I wonder how plants are able to maximize the comfort of living and how visual and mental experience can be enhanced and affected by growing plants within different spatial formation.

Methodological overview:
For this project I will be discussing and researching on the format and purpose of urban planting, and research on how plants energize and elevate the urban environment. Examples out there will also include the ability of composition and selection of plants can cure and improve the negative social communication and phenomenon. In terms of the physical presentation, I am designing a planter that generates intimacy between human beings and plants , based on the research writing, the final result and achievement will then be emerged since the form and exact function is still not decided yet.

Theory:
Harvey, Justice ,Nature and the Geography of Difference:
+He’s asking us to rethink about the definition of nature and examines how “nature” and “environment” are viewed within contemporary world.
+The voice of nature within us becomes a key components of action and understanding. (How we define nature on our domination while the reality is most of environmental phenomenon emerged because of our self-positioned separation.)

About BLUENOISE

Unless it's the end of the world, don't stop venturing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Plants within Urbanization Progress

  1. aubreyd642 says:

    The form of a planter makes me very intrigued and I look forward to seeing it! Take into account the various tiny spaces most people in urban places inhabit. I have a small house plant in my dorm room but I wish I could have more I just don’t have the space! How could this project accommodate people like me ? What types of plants will you place inside this planter which ones will survive indoors , are they purely for visual appreciation and clean air or food ? What about sunlight and irrigation?

  2. Kathleen says:

    I have to say, I’m SUPER excited about your project! It sounds awesome and I can’t wait to see your planter. I have this potted flower that I tend to back at my apartment but that aside… Your subject matter and what Harvey explores in his book really reveals our lifestyle. Us city-goers are always the consumers and not the producers in our community and I feel like your project can inspire and help us adopt a healthier lifestyle. Are you going to hone on a specific category of plants or just one type of plant in general for your planter?

  3. terrenceacharles says:

    This is such a great idea! I think the possibility present in this project is really great. I am interested in the form this will ultimately take; do you see your planter as something that can be multiplied into a field or mounted on the wall? I think that a planter that is transformable while being movable that creates an emotional reaction would be really compelling to experience as a user. Your project relates to Jamer’s lecture on scale, and how he spoke about how far things can be pushed before they disintegrate. I think this idea is crucial to your project and the effect you desire to create. I would look at garden design throughout history for inspiration, because your idea about the visual organization of plants and their effect on emotion has been studied before and is present within numerous cultures.

    Also here is a really interesting project to examine that I think will benefit your own:
    http://thelowline.org/

Leave a Reply

