Kaori Sone

Barbara Adams

Global Issues

Thesis Idea for Final Paper

 

Speaking about cultural globalization.

My name is Kaori Sone, a half Japanese half Dominican living in New York senior student of Fashion Design. I am taking a class called Fundamentals of Ceramics in which the sole person not belonging to product design is oneself. The next project’s prerequisite is doing a tabletop design (tea set, salt & pepper, cooking utensils set). And when thinking about a concept I started giving a thought of me as an individual doesn’t quite know where it belongs or where it exactly comes from.

As Appadurai argues in his book Modernity at Large, globalization has reached all of humankind by media, to the extent that I cannot even start to grasp the idea of what it means to be half Japanese and half Dominican. And it is this mixture of cultural aesthetics, ideologies and rationality of these so different countries that it is in my interest to represent. To embody this challenge I will be taking into account properties and characteristics of interesting specific places and town of the prefecture in which my father grew up, Kanagawa.

Another way in which I will be addressing this piece is by fusing materials and thoughts of design of Fashion Design and Product Design, thinking about usage, color, form and how can I integrate fashion aspects such as fabric, stitching and weaving with more manual and hard materials like plaster, wood and metal that are usually used in product design.

At the end of the semester I will have a paper that supports the ideas behind the ceramic piece that will be developed and how this art piece represents this mixture of countries and these two majors in which I am interested. Emphasizing that globalization and these global flows that Appadurai explores, can be found in art itself, not just in culture and society.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. krystsinas says:

    Just read your proposal, and it reminded me of Kip Fulbeck’s ‘Hapa Project’ dealing with the issue of multiracial identity. It was exhibited in the Museum of Chinese in America couple of years ago so I am not sure that you can still see it there. But here is the link http://seaweedproductions.com/the-hapa-project/. Hope it could help.

  2. aubreyd642 says:

    I’m really responding to your last sentence art is a great place to collide contrasting ideas. I wonder what you can find in common about these two places/cultures Japan and the Dominican Republic and how you might use that info to your advantage. Also this idea of “not knowing where it belongs or comes from” will making this piece help with that? is that a problem you’re trying to solve or should that be evident and perhaps the meaning of the piece? I know these are more questions but I hope they’re helpful somehow!

  3. Kao to enrich your research I think you could investigate a little bit about the Meiji period in Japan and also watch the movie Last Samurai for much visual reference and. In the case of DR, look at when the dictator Trujillo invited Japanese families to impulse the agriculture, there is a short documentary about it that I saw once from BBC I think.

Leave a Reply

